The Entrepreneur Forum | Financial Freedom | Starting a Business | Motivation | Money | Success

Welcome to the only entrepreneur forum dedicated to building life-changing wealth.

Build a Fastlane business. Earn real financial freedom. Join free.

Join over 80,000 entrepreneurs who have rejected the paradigm of mediocrity and said "NO!" to underpaid jobs, ascetic frugality, and suffocating savings rituals— learn how to build a Fastlane business that pays both freedom and lifestyle affluence.

Free registration at the forum removes this block.

How to Properly Speak with Suppliers

Castillo

Bronze Contributor
Read Fastlane!
Speedway Pass
User Power
Value/Post Ratio
119%
Mar 8, 2016
Vancouver, BC
Hey guys! I have officially registered my business with the government, found the niche that I am going to pursue and have already emailed a few suppliers. I have a few questions since this is my first time...

Getting pricing - Is it rude to ask for pricing right away? Should I build a relationship with the client first?

Also pricing - Do most suppliers have a "catalogue" of the prices of their items, or is it kind of a flat markup percentage or does it depend on each supplier?

Is there anything that I should/shouldn't say in specific when initially emailing potential suppliers?

Oh also for you amazon people, If I'm from Canada do I have to sell on Amazon.ca or can I also sell in Amazon.com?

Thank you guys!

Dislike ads? Remove them and support the forum: Subscribe to Fastlane Insiders.

SteveO

Legendary Contributor
FASTLANE INSIDER
EPIC CONTRIBUTOR
Summit Attendee
Speedway Pass
User Power
Value/Post Ratio
456%
Jul 24, 2007
Every supplier will be different. I have many different suppliers for the golf business and talk to them frequently. Sometimes you can make demands if they really want your business. Other times you just have to suck it up. This is especially true if the supplier has robust business already.