What's new

What would you do in my situation? (Rant)

Anything related to matters of the mind

Welcome to the only entrepreneur forum dedicated to building life-changing wealth.

Build a Fastlane business. Earn real financial freedom. Live your best life.

Tired of paying for dead communities hosted by absent gurus who don't have time for you?

Imagine having a multi-millionaire mentor by your side EVERY. SINGLE. DAY. Since 2007, MJ DeMarco has been a cornerstone of Fastlane, actively contributing on over 99% of days—99.92% to be exact! With more than 38,000 game-changing posts, he's dedicated to helping entrepreneurs achieve their freedom. Join a thriving community of over 90,000 members and access a vast library of over 1,000,000 posts from entrepreneurs around the globe.

Forum membership removes this block and all non-sponsor ads.

CosMoen

New Contributor
Read Fastlane!
A little background about myself: I graduated recently with a dual BS/MS degree in Statistics. The MS was kind of a freebie since I took extra grad-level classes as an undergrad in order to get the second degree. While I college, I decided to become an "actuary" and passed a few exams.

I busted a$$ to get my first job at a large company doing healthcare consulting work. The work is dull but it is not too difficult (think Excel/spreadsheet monkey) and the pay is very good. However, my current dilemma is whether I should continue taking more exams. I am currently at the 60% point in terms of getting to the "Associate Actuary" licensed credential. To get there, I will have to go through 2 more exams and at the end complete a set of online modules that should take 9-12months to finish.

In my heart of hearts, I never want or wanted to become a lifelong actuary. It is soul-drenching work but I am not going to get into that any further. My goal is to work and build my business on the side while saving enough capital.