• Forum Upgrades Ongoing: Please pardon the dust. Starting Saturday afternoon 3 PM (MST) 6PM (EST) and for the next 48 hours, the forum will be undergoing style modifications and may not appear as normal. Please be patient as modifications are performed...
    Thanks, MJ!

MARKETING Anatomy of a Launch Success

Marketing, social media, advertising

Cameraman

Silver Contributor
LEGACY MEMBER
Read Rat-Race Escape!
Read Fastlane!
Speedway Pass
User Power
Post/Like Ratio
213%
Register now
You must login or register for fastlane membership to view hidden content on this page.
I recently launched a new course after being inspired by @Lex DeVille in another thread. I’ve been selling courses for around 10 years but struggled to turn a profit. This time, things were different, and my first two weeks generated over 300% more revenue than my previously most successful course did in its entire lifetime.

My usual launch consists of a couple of emails announcing a new product with a discount for subscribers. I also mention the new course in my monthly newsletters. This time, having read “Launch” by Jeff Walker, I wanted to test his launch approach.

The problem I have with the Launch approach is it feels too much, like SPAM, with several emails a day through a launch period. To avoid this, I adapted his system to what I thought my subscribers would accept.

Step 1: Create a launch subscriber list. Anyone interested in the course could register for regular updates and a launch discount.

Step 2: Publish articles in my newsletter announcing I’m working on the course and that people can register for a launch discount.

Step 3: Send regular email news updates with tips about the course to subscribers.

These steps were all about creating a buzz and demand ahead of the launch. Unfortunately, life got in the way, and rather than the planned month between step 1 and the launch (I think Jeff recommends much less than a month), it was around 4 months.