The Entrepreneur Forum | Financial Freedom | Starting a Business | Motivation | Money | Success

Welcome to the only entrepreneur forum dedicated to building life-changing wealth.

Build a Fastlane business. Earn real financial freedom. Join free.

Join over 90,000 entrepreneurs who have rejected the paradigm of mediocrity and said "NO!" to underpaid jobs, ascetic frugality, and suffocating savings rituals— learn how to build a Fastlane business that pays both freedom and lifestyle affluence.

Free registration at the forum removes this block.

Is sending out a couple of hundred mass emails a month spam?

Marketing, social media, advertising

silentjay

Contributor
User Power
Value/Post Ratio
86%
Feb 14, 2013
I've never done any type of email marketing before so go easy on me if this is completely stupid!

If I were to get someone to build a small email list for niche businesses I want to target, and then send out an identical email to them, looking at less than a hundred or so emails a month...is this going to be classed as spam? would I be risking getting my mailservers black listed?

If it's relatively safe are there any good services for this type of thing...or just use plain old gmail?

Dislike ads? Remove them and support the forum: Subscribe to Fastlane Insiders.

Twiki

Bronze Contributor
Speedway Pass
User Power
Value/Post Ratio
101%
Oct 7, 2012
Well it's not a stupid concern that you raise, but it would be a terribly stupid thing to use Gmail or your own mailserver for this sort of thing. Google CAN-SPAM and "Aweber" and "MailCheat(Chimp)" and "MadMimi" (I've only used Aweber though). But if it's only a couple hundred or less on that list and this is a B2B thing, why not just call them up? Or at least send them each a custom email and forget the generic email idea?

PS. I think aweber may not be work for you depending on how the list is built, if it's opt-in or not.

Last edited:

petethepeddler

Contributor
Read Fastlane!
User Power
Value/Post Ratio
48%